Goals FAQs

How many Goals can be associated with one Portfolio?

Up to 10 Goals can be associated with one Portfolio.

How many projects or Portfolios can be associated with a Goal?

10 projects or Portfolios can be associated with one Goal.

Yes, Goals are discoverable through the Search bar. You must be on a Business tier to search for Goals.

What types of notifications will I receive for my Goals?

Notifications will be triggered in Inbox, Mobile, and Email for the following:

Goal Owners will receieve a notification when:

  • You were added as an Owner
  • You were removed as an Owner
  • The due date is changed
  • You were added as a Collaborator
  • The status of the Goal was changed

Collaborators will receieve a notification when:

  • You were added as a Collaborator
  • The status of the Goal was changed

Team members do not receive notifications, unless they are added as the owner or a Collaborator. Anyone who wants to get updates on Goals should be added as a Collaborator.

If you made the change that triggers a notification, you do not receive a notification.

Are Goals accessible on Android and IOS?

Yes, Goals are available in a view only state on Android and IOS. View only means the Goals can't be edited or altered on the mobile version of Asana. To edit or change a Goal, please use the desktop version of Asana.

Can Guests access Goals?

Guests do not have access to Goals. They cannot be added as Owners or Collaborators.

I don't have Asana Business, can I still access Goals?

Non-business users will not be able to access Goals, though they can be added as an owner or Collaborator.

Goals in Workspaces

Goals are also available for Workspaces that have Asana Business. As Workspaces operate as one team, there isn't the ability to toggle between multiple teams from your Goal's list view. All Goals will be added at the Workspace level.

If you remove the team from your Goal in your Goal's list view, you can easily find it again by using the Search bar.

What happens if I delete a team my Goals are housed under?

Deleting the team will not delete the Goals, as Goals are housed at an Organizational level. This means that if you delete your team, you can still search for your Goals using the Search bar.

However, it is recommended that any Goals assigned to the team are reassigned to another appropriate team before deletion. This will allow you to filter the goals using the newly assigned team for easier navigation.

Sorry, we don't support this browser

Asana doesn't work with the internet browser you are currently using. Please sign up using one of these supported browsers instead.

Choose your language

Selecting a language changes the language and/or content on asana.com