Project permissions

Access to a project in Asana is contextual and there are a variety of situations that affect who can access a project and its tasks.

If somebody has access to a project, then they have access to all tasks and conversations within that project.

Project: Accessible by:
Private project Project members
Public project in request or Hidden Team Team and project members
Public project in Public Team Organization, Team, and project members

In this article, we’ll explain:

  • How to identify a project’s permissions
  • Who can see a project
  • How to share a project
  • How to limit access to a project

Private Projects

Identifying a private project:

A private project will show Private to Members in the project headerheader The header is part of the user interface between the top bar and the main pane and lets users navigate projects. Read more .

If a project is private to only you, the project header will show Private to You instead.

Who can see a private project?

Only the project membersproject members Someone that has access to and receives notifications about a project. Read more can see a private project.

How do I share a private project?

You have two options to share a private project: - Add project membersproject members Someone that has access to and receives notifications about a project. Read more . - Change to a public project - changing a project to public will make the project accessible to all Members of the Team in which that project exists in.

Add project members:

Click the + sign to add more project membersproject members Someone that has access to and receives notifications about a project. Read more .

Change to a public project:

Click the + sign then select Make public to [Team Name].

Changing a project to public will make the project accessible to all Members of the Team in which the project exists in.

How do I limit access to a private project?

Remove project members:

  1. Click the + sign then select Member Notification Settings.
  2. In the next window, hover over the person you want to remove and select Remove.

Removing project members from a private project so that they’ll no longer be able to access that project’s tasks and Conversations.

Public Projects

Identifying a public project:

A public project will show Shared with [Team Name] in the project headerheader The header is part of the user interface between the top bar and the main pane and lets users navigate projects. Read more .

Who can see a public project?

A public project can be accessed by:

  1. Project membersProject members Someone that has access to and receives notifications about a project. Read more
  2. All Team MembersTeam Members Someone that has access to all public projects and conversations in a Team. Read more

In Public Teams, Organization Members that are not part of the Team can also see public projects within the Team. Check your Team’s permissions to see whether or not other Organization Members can see this public project.

How do I share a public project project?

share public project

Sharing a public project:

  1. Add someone as a project memberproject member Someone that has access to and receives notifications about a project. Read more - if this person already belongs to the Team in which that project exists, they already have access to that project. Adding a Team Member to a project will only start sending them project notifications.
  2. Add someone as a Team MemberTeam Member Someone that has access to all public projects and conversations in a Team. Read more - adding someone as a Team Member will give that person access to all other public projects within that Team.

How do I limit access to a public project?

To limit access to a public project: - Remove project membersproject members Someone that has access to and receives notifications about a project. Read more - if someone is also a Member of the Team in which the project exists in they will still have access to the project. - Change to a private project - changing to a private project means only project members will be able to access that project. Team Members will no longer be able to access that project.

remove members from public project

Remove project members:

  1. Click the + sign then select Member Notification Settings.
  2. In the next window, hover over the person you want to remove and select Remove.

set project to private

Change to a private project:

Click the + sign then select Make private.

Log in

or

Forgot your password?

Sign Up

Please use your work email address, so we can connect you with your team in Asana.

Sign Up

Please use your work email address, so we can connect you with your team in Asana.

Enter a work email address

This email looks like a personal email address. If you want to be connected with your team, please use your work email address.

Enter a work email address

Why are we asking? Continue with my email

Oops, we couldn’t sign you up!

We tried, but there was a problem creating your account. Please close this window and try again!

Hey there, we’ve already met!

Add link to

Error: Please select a workspace before adding link.


Sorry, we don’t support this browser

Asana doesn’t work with the internet browser you are currently using. Please sign up using one of these supported browsers instead.