Use Team messages to share team-wide announcements, celebrate major accomplishments, or talk about multiple projects at a time.
Accessing Team Messages
To access Team messages:
- Navigate to Teams on the left bar and choose a specific team that you want to access.
- Click Messages under the team name from the header.
Creating a New Message in a Team
To create a new Message in a team, click on the Send message to members button.
Notifications with Team Messages
Depending on the message, different people are notified when the message is first posted and when someone comments on the message.
You can choose to add a collaborator or leave the message.
To opt in or out of messages:
- Click + to add or remove collaborators
- Choose to Leave messages to stop getting notifications on the messages
Notifications when posting to Team Messages
When someone sends a message, a notification is sent to:
- All Team Members
- Any non-Team Member that has been @mentioned
A number next to the Send button will show you exactly how many people will be notified when you create a new message.
Notifications when commenting on a Team Messages
When someone comments on a message, a notification is sent to:
- The author of the message.
- Anyone who has previously commented on the message.
- Anyone who was @mentioned in the message or any of the message's previous comments.
You will see the collaborators who will be notified when commenting on a message.
Team Message permissions
Access to a Team's message is determined by the Team's permission setting.
|Membership by Request||Team Members|
|Public to Organization||Team & Organization Members|
If you @mention someone in a Team message where their permission is set to Membership by Request or Private, they will only see the one message they were @mentioned in.