Use your project's message view to have project-level discussions, brainstorming, or any other topic that goes beyond a single task.
Every project has its own Messages view.
Accessing Project Messages
To access project messages:
- Click your desired project from the sidebar
- Navigate to the Messages View from the header
Notifications with Project Messages
Depending on the message, different people are notified when the message is first sent and when someone comments on the message.
Notifications when posting to project Messages
When someone creates a message, a notification is sent to:
- All Project members
- Any non-project member mentioned in the message
You will be able to see the Collaborators who will be notified when starting a message.
Notifications when commenting on a project message
When someone comments on a message, a notification is sent to:
- The author of the message
- Anyone who has previously commented on the message
- Anyone who was @mentioned in the message or any of the message's previous comments
You can see who will be notified by hovering over Collaborators.
Project Message Permissions
Access to a project's messages is determined by its project permissions.
If somebody has access to the project, then they also have access to all of the project's permissions.
|Public project||Team MembersTeam MembersSomeone that has access to all public projects and conversations in a Team.Read more & project members|
|Private project||Project membersProject membersSomeone that has access to and receives notifications about a project.Read more|
If you @mention someone in project messages where their permission is set to private, they will only see the one message they were @mentioned in.