Team Conversations

Use Team Conversations to share team-wide announcements, celebrate major accomplishments, or talk about multiple projects at a time.

Accessing Team Conversations

To access Team Conversations:

  1. Click Team Conversations under your desired team from the sidebarsidebarUse the sidebar to navigate to the dashboard, starred items, projects, and teams. The sidebar can be collapsed.Read more
  2. Navigate to the Conversations View from the headerheaderThe header is part of the user interface between the top bar and the main pane and lets users navigate projects.Read more

Notifications with Team Conversations

Depending on the conversation, different people are notified when the conversation is first posted and when someone comments on the conversation.

Notifications when posting to Team Conversations

When someone posts a Conversation, a notification is sent to:

  • All Team MembersTeam MembersSomeone that has access to all public projects and conversations in a Team.Read more
  • Any non-Team Member that has been @mentioned@mentionedType Read more

notification counter in conversations

A number next to the Post button will show you exactly how many people will be notified when you create a new Conversation.

Notifications when commenting on a Team Conversations

When someone comments on a post, a notification is sent to:

  • The author of the post
  • Anyone who has previously commented on the post
  • Anyone who was @mentioned in the post or any of the post's previous comments

notification counter in comments

A number next to the Comment button will show you exactly how many people will be notified when commenting on a Conversation.

Notifications will appear in the person's Inbox and sent out via email.  

Team Conversation permissions

Access to a Team's Conversation is determined by the Team's permission setting.

Team: Accessible by:
Membership by Request Team Members
Hidden Team Members
Public to Organization Team & Organization Members

If you @mention someone in Team Conversations where their permission is set to Membership by Request or Hidden, they will only see the one Conversation they were @mentioned in.

Moving Conversations

If you posted a Conversation, you can move it from one team to another.

moving team conversation

To move the Conversation, hover over the Conversation name and click the drop-down arrow that appears beside the like icon. Hover over Move Conversation. A list of teams you're a member of will appear.

You must be a member of the team you wish to move the Conversation to.

Sorry, we don't support this browser

Asana doesn't work with the internet browser you are currently using. Please sign up using one of these supported browsers instead.

Choose your language

Selecting a language changes the language and/or content on asana.com